Tuesday, October 13, 2015

Pigs in Pajamas by Maggie Smith

This was a short and entertaining story about Penelope Pig having a slumber party.

The pages are bright and colorful, but at the same time they're education. The main theme of the book is the use of the letter "P". The book uses a lot of words with the letter "P" like piano, pie, pizza, prancing and so on.

This is fun story to get the little ones to bed.

Rating 4 out of 5 

Monday, October 12, 2015

Saving Laurel Springs by Lin Stepp

25967613This was a second chance romance the follows childhood sweethearts Rhea Dean and Carter Layman as they get a second chance at love.

The story was alright, but it felt too done before. Small town, boy moves away, girl stays behind. Boy marries, has family, wife dies, he returns to the small town and reconnect with his first and "true" love.

The reason I couldn't give this story a much better score is that they always make the girl out to be this sad thing that puts her life on like permanent hold. She's supposed to be pretty, smart, hard working but she's hung up on this love that has moved on and she stays frozen.

The story did have some moments that made me think it was okay; I just couldn't 100% like Carter and that is why the story suffered with me.

Rating 3.5 out of 5 

Sunday, October 11, 2015

Slow Ride (Playing for Keeps #1) by Cathryn Fox

This was fun second chance story where the quiet, studious girl finally gets the star jock. Chase Cooper always had a thing for Julia Blair, but being best friends with her twin sister meant he kept his hands off. 

Friends always teased Chase that he had a thing for Julia's twin and his best friend but he always denied. When he and his friends make a drunken pact to reach out to someone from their past that may have been the one that got away he sends the invite to Mari his former best friend, only it's not Mari that shows up but Julia.

Chase is actually a lot happier that Julia showed up and he decided to pursue the girl he couldn't have in high school.

Julia is now a lawyer and when she takes that invite she is shocked to see that it was Chase that sent it. She decides to relax and finds that Chase really is other half.

It's a fun read and Chase was so swoon worthy; perfect son, romantic, yeah definitely swoon.

Rating 4 out of 5 

Saturday, October 10, 2015

One Night with the Bad Boy (Whiskey River #4) by Eve Gaddy

So, we've pretty much been hooked on this series since we first read about the crazy will that brought together four bothers in Where There's a Will

In this book we follow Xander Blue and Bailey Richmond as they conquer some personal obstacles to find their happily ever after with each other.

While this book can be read on its own, I very strongly recommend reading the books in order. In this one we have drama and whole lot of love. The characters were really enjoyable; Xander and Bailey really get you hooked.

Katherine Garbera and Eve Gaddy have really delivered with this great, must read series.

Rating 5 out of 5 

Friday, October 9, 2015

Unblocked Collection by Marni Mann

Originally released in five parts this book collects all five parts of one of the steamiest stories you'll read in a while.

The story follows Derek Block and Frankie Jordan as they face their past, their future and get everything they've worked their butts off for.

Ms. Mann really knows how to bring you a story with characters that will get you addicted to the drama.

Rating 5 out of 5 

Thursday, October 8, 2015

All I Need is You by Wendy S. Marcus

Perfect for fans of Kristan Higgins and Robyn Carr, this sexy yet sweet military romance reunites a headstrong dancer and a rugged army soldier after one steamy encounter tears them apart.

As a dancer who creates mesmerizing visions onstage, Neve James is looking for the same kind of stability in her love life. Her pen pal, Rory McRoy, is on leave from deployment in Afghanistan, so she heads to Boston to surprise him. After corresponding for months as part of a “Support Our Troops” initiative—and exchanging dozens of “Read When You’re Alone” letters—Neve knows what Rory likes, and she intends to fulfill his every fantasy. But all they get are a few blissful moments together before they’re interrupted by a woman claiming to be Rory’s fiancée.

Rory has fallen hard for Neve’s letters. When he finally meets her in person, he has to have her, right then and there—until Neve takes off in a fit of anger. Forced to return to Afghanistan before he can fix things between them, Rory waits four agonizing months to prove that he’s not the man Neve thinks he is. But by the time he arrives in New York, she’s already made up her mind. Luckily, Rory never backs down from a challenge, and he’s prepared to put everything on the line for love.

Advance praise for All I Need Is You

“Wendy S. Marcus has penned a perfect romance in All I Need Is You, with a sexy dancer heroine, a hot military hero with a sense of humor, and a story you won’t want to end.”—New York Times bestselling author Claudia Connor

Buy Links:  Amazon | B & N | iTunes | Kobo

“I warned you not to come back here,” Nate snapped at Rory. “And why are you sniffing around my sister when you have a fiancée?”

“I’m not sniffing around yaw sistah,” she heard Rory say in his thick Boston accent. “And I don’t have a fiancée. I’m not engaged and have nevah been engaged. I didn’t lie to you. . . .

Damn it, Neve. We’re friends. Give me—”

“You’re no friend of mine,” she told Rory. Not anymore. Not after what happened when he’d come home on leave several months ago. She lifted her left arm halfway up, glanced back at Nate, and gave a dismissive wave. “Get rid of him.” Thank God she reached the kitchen milliseconds before a humiliating collapse to the floor and managed to land on her chair instead.

“I’m sorry you’re still upset,” Rory called out. “If you’d just let me explain. You wouldn’t answer my calls, didn’t respond to my emails, and sent all my lettahs back, unopened. Now that I’m home for good I’m not going anywhere until we talk.”

“We’ve been talking.” She removed the plastic container of warm soup from the bag and placed it on the table. “Now I’m done talking.” She looked at him. “Goodbye, Rory. Go home.

Have a nice life.”

At that, Rory walked inside her messy condo.

Sheesh. Men. Why don’t they ever do as they’re told?

“Stop,” Nate said in his police voice.

“Arrest him,” Neve suggested while struggling to remove the lid, which seemed to be glued on. Suddenly the effort didn’t seem worth it. What little appetite she’d had was gone.

“He didn’t arrest me last time.” Rory crossed his arms over his chest. “Just drove me away, took me to the train station, and waited around for me to get on.”

Last time when he’d showed up, uninvited, two days before he needed to head back to Afghanistan, banging on her door, demanding to be let in, insisting she give him a chance to explain. Nope. Instead she’d called her brother. “What is the benefit of having a sibling who’s a cop if you won’t arrest people when I tell you to?”

Nate ignored her, as he often did. His full focus elsewhere, he leaned down to look Rory in the eyes. “I recall telling you if you came back around I’d arrest you for real.”

“For what?” Rory asked.

“Trespassing,” Nate answered.

“Harassment,” Neve added. The word had come out of her mouth, she’d felt the vibration of her vocal cords, and yet the voice didn’t sound like hers. A wave of hot, achy, nauseating weakness slammed into her. Her peripheral vision started to narrow. The room started to blur.

She needed to get back to bed, to sleep this off, but when she tried to stand a horrific pain shot through her right hip into her lower back.

Then everything went black.

Author Info
Wendy S. Marcus is an award-winning author of contemporary romance. A nurse by trade Wendy holds a Master of Science in Health Care Administration, a degree that does her absolutely no good as she now spends her days, nights, and weekends mucking around in her characters’ lives creating conflict, emotion, and, of course, a happily ever after. Wendy lives in the beautiful Hudson Valley region of New York. When she’s not writing, she enjoys spending time with her family, which includes her dog Buddy, and blogging/ emailing/ tweeting/ facebooking with her online friends.

Wednesday, October 7, 2015

Unblocked - Episode Five (Timber Towers, #5) by Marni Mann

24643094In the final episode things get crazy good; the bad guy goes down and Derek and Frankie get their happily ever after.

We have some sad moments and some OMFG moments. Overall we get a great wrap-up for this series that kept us hooked.

Rating 5 out of 5